Over 30 OpenStack users presented at the Sydney Summit to share their use case     Watch the sessions

Individual Member Profile


Steven Dake

Date Joined
July 21, 2012

Cisco Systems, Inc From 2015-02-02 (Current)
Red Hat From 2012-03-01 To 2015-01-30
Statement of Interest

adjacent community collaboration, governance




Steven Dake currently serves as an elected Individual Director of the OpenStack Foundation.  Steve is also actively involved in bridging communities between the OpenStack's community and adjacent communities.

Steve currently serves as a core reviewer of OpenStack Kolla and contributes to the design and implementation of OpenStack Kolla heavily.  Steve previously served as Kolla PTL for Newton, Mitaka, Liberty, Kilo and Juno cycles.  Steve was also a Magnum core reviewer at the same time as serving the Kolla community as PTL, and contributed to the definition and implementation of the initial Magnum architecture.

Prior to gaining an interest in container technology, Steve initiated and served as PTL of OpenStack Heat with a small development team while at Red Hat, Inc.  During this period, Steve served as Heat PTL for Essex, Folsom, and Grizzly.

Prior to Steve's involvement in OpenStack, Steve was primarily focused on the development of open source high availability technology leading the design and implementation of Corosync, a group communication system, which combined with Pacemaker is the de-facto standard high availability stack for Linux.  During this period of his career, Steve also served as a technical community leader for the modern Linux high availability stack.


Steve enjoys Hi-Fidelity analog tube audio, electric RC car racing, and hiking with his wife, daughter, and son.



I'm involved in the following OpenStack projects: Container deployment (Kolla)

OpenStack Summit Presentations


Steven is a candidate in the 2017 Board Election .


What is your relationship to OpenStack, and why is its success important to you? What would you say is your biggest contribution to OpenStack's success to date?


I have been working on OpenStack for roughly 4 years solving hard problems to grow the entire OpenStack ecosystem by enabling technical projects, specifically Heat, Magnum, and Kolla.  The success of OpenStack is crucial to enabling a better future for the next generation.  My biggest contribution to OpenStack is mentoring the next generation of OpenStackers in the OpenStack way.


Describe your experience with other non profits or serving as a board member. How does your experience prepare you for the role of a board member?


I have never served as a board member in the past. However, twenty years of Open Source technical and business experience have prepared me to serve as a board member.  I have been involved in standards bodies and organizations including Chair of ACM for my university, USB, I2O, Carrier Grade Linux, Service Availability Forum, the Linux HA stack, and OpenStack in both technical and strategic roles.  I have also designed and written significant bodies of software work to achieve strategic objectives with global teams from diverse backgrounds and fields.


What do you see as the Board's role in OpenStack's success?


The Board has 4 equally important roles in OpenStack's success.  The Board serves to protect OpenStack.  The Board also serves to enable global participation of contributors in a friendly cohesive environment free of micromanagement.  The Board also serves to communicate the efforts of OpenStack contributors to the rest of the world.  The Board's final responsibility is to enable interoperability not just of OpenStack itself, but of other Foundation's efforts.


What do you think the top priority of the Board should be in 2016?


The top priority for the Board is interoperability.  A focus on working with other foundations to achieve consensus and friendly working relationships is crucial.

Steven has already been nominated by:

  • Britt Houser
  • Jeffrey Zhang
  • Andreas Jaeger
  • Davanum Srinivas
  • Dave McCowan
  • Carol Barrett
  • Maish Saidel-Keesing
  • Shane Wang
  • Mark Collier
  • Anni Lai