Watch hundreds of session videos from the Paris Summit in glorious HD    Watch Summit Sessions

2014 Board Election: Candidate List

Candidates On The Ballot

The candidates on this list have the 10 nominations required to be on the election ballot and have completed the application.

130100302 Cut


Tim Bell

Nominated by: Todd Morey Jonathan Bryce Mark McLoughlin Tom Fifield Vishvananda Ishaya Syed Armani Tristan Goode David Lyle Kavit Munshi Kyle Mestery

About Tim

I'm  responsible for the group at CERN which manages the infrastructure services for 11,000 physicists around the world. I previously worked as a Unix kernel developer at IBM along with managing large scale Unix production deployments and services for Deutsche Bank in Europe.

My team is running the CERN OpenStack cloud which has been in production since July 2013 and is currently around 80,000 cores. This cloud provides processing power for the physicists working on the Large Hadron Collider and its experiments, producing around 27PB a year. This team won the superuser award ( in Paris for contributions to OpenStack.


View Tim Bell's full candidate profile and Q&A >>

minneapolis portrait photography Twin Cities family portraits St. Paul photography 20 2


Kyle Mestery

Nominated by: Edward Henry Myles Steinhauser Steve Noble Britt Houser Sudeep Lohith Jay Cuthrell Ryan Hughes Jesse Proudman Marcel de Bont Sumeet Prasad

About Kyle

Kyle is a Senior Director and Chief Technologist for Open Source Networking at HP. He works primarly on Open Source projects including OpenStack, Open vSwitch, OpenDayllight, and libvirt. Kyle has a passion for Open Source software and believes the power of an open community can change the world. He has been writing systems software for over 15 years. Kyle lives with his wife and family in Minnesota.

View Kyle Mestery's full candidate profile and Q&A >>



Vishvananda Ishaya

Nominated by: Chet Burgess David Lapsley Rafi Khardalian Zane Bitter Tina Nolte Tobias Ford Joel Friedly Kord Campbell Joe Gordon Mark McClain

About Vishvananda

Vish Ishaya is the Chief Technology Officer at Nebula, Inc. Prior to joining Nebula, he was a Principal Engineer with Rackspace Cloud Builders. He was also a Senior Systems Engineer with Anso Labs and NASA Nebula Technical Lead during the creation of Nova, one of the founding OpenStack projects.

He is a highly prolific developer who has been one of the top contributors to OpenStack. He has been a member of the OpenStack Technical Committee since its inception, and was recently elected to the OpenStack Board, which along with other prominent community members helps guide the vision of the OpenStack project.

Vish was elected to four consecutive terms as the OpenStack Compute Project Technical Lead. In addition to his excellent programming and systems skills, Vish has spent over a decade teaching, most recently classes in object oriented analysis and design.

View Vishvananda Ishaya's full candidate profile and Q&A >>

Election Details

Nominations for Individual Board Members have closed.